Goodbye Waves and Driveways

Posted: July 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s crazy to think that I’m at “that age.” The age where a lot of my friends are getting engaged and married. It seems so common.
But even more common are the couples I know in long distance relationships. Myself included. I know it happens a lot with college, people going home for the summer and what not.

I’m really starting to hate those drives to the airport. The goodbyes at the curb, where I’m sure the other drivers are like “can you please stop kissing so I can pull in?” Everything feels so rushed, just like how your week together flew by.

Long distance relationships have a lot of tears, a lot of texts, a lot of waiting around for calls, a lot of periods of silence followed by periods of extreme chatter and updates.

What you miss out on by being so far apart physically, you try to make up for in words. But it’s never quite enough. You can’t hold hands via Skype, and all the “I’m sorry’s” in the world cannot replace the long hug you need after a bad day.

Yet at the same time, Ben and I are making our relationship stronger in these seasons apart. I find myself praying for him a lot more when he’s far away. I take the time to make packages to send to him. I find myself longing for meaningful conversations instead of just cuddling.

Distance builds substance. It builds trust. And it makes moments together much more special.

And distance is only a season. Always remember that, friends. Being away from the one you love is not permenant. I’m resting in that as I wait to hear from Ben that he has arrived safely.

We are using our time apart to become the individuals God wants us to be, so that we are two whole people, making up one companionship.

I will see Ben again in about 3 weeks, and I know some days I will feel like Penelope, pining for Odysseus for years and years. But other days, my perspective will alter, and I will realize that we will one day have our whole life to spend together.

And that is worth the wait.

Comments
  1. Natasha says:

    Ashley. I love you. Thank you for this.

  2. I AGREE!!! When Dale and I had our summer apart, that is when we really KNEW we LOVED each other!!!! I am so happy for you too!!!! I can’t wait to meet Ben!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

