My Picks of the Week

Posted: July 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

So I have decided to start blogging about things that I like/find interesting/want to recommend. I will try and do so weekly, and as a result bring this long-forgotten blog back to life. ENJOY!

 

ASHLEY’S PICKS OF THE WEEK: JULY 9TH, 2011

Products:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Neutrogena Grapefruit Cleanser

As a 22 year old who still struggles with acne, I find it rather annoying to have to spend money on special kinds of face washes, lotions, and peroxides. The trouble with all of those products is that they smell like alcohol and all the other unpronounceable chemicals located under “ingredients.” However, this face wash is actually very nice. It smells, well, like grapefruit. I got the cream cleanser, and so far, it is very gentle on my skin. I may even get the scrub and the other members of the Neutrogena grapefruit family.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Clean & Clear Morning Burst Body Wash–Pomegranate & Orange Zest

I love this stuff. Not only does it smell like a Jolly Rancher, but its scent really “wakes you up.” It has tiny scrubby beads and thus cleanses and fights breakouts. This is great if you get acne on your chest, back, or arms.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bath & Body Works- Into the Wild lotion

And finally, in case I am worried that I may not smell enough like the fruit section of a farmer’s market, I give you the Bath and Body Works Into the Wild lotion. This line not only shares a name with one of my favorite books, but it has a delectable, tropical smell that has an edge to it. Like all B&BW lotions, it goes on smoothly and isn’t greasy. Into the Wild also comes in body spray, shea butter, and body wash. I’m a fan.

Movies:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Swings Kids

Starring Christian Bale and Robert Sean Leonard, this 1993 jitterbug film is actually really compelling. It tells the history of a lesser-known group of youngsters in Nazi Germany. These kids, known as the Swing Kids, opposed the Hitler youth, and were obsessed with American big band music. They held dances in secret, and tried to steer clear of the HJ’s. Very moving with some toe-tapping fun.

BOOKS:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Northern Lights by Tim O’Brien

I fell in  love with Tim O’Brien after reading The Things They Carried.  This novel follows a similar storyline, as O’Brien tells of 2 brothers–one who went to Vietnam and one who didn’t. O’Brien himself was in Vietnam, and his novels are basically historical fiction of what he experienced. A great read for gung-ho pro-military Republicans or social-justice loving Democrats. Just kidding. But really, it has something for everybody. Great discussion builder.

MUSIC:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Simple Math by Manchester Orchestra

I’m really proud of them for putting out a solid new album. Sometimes good bands have a bit of a fallback. But Simple Math did not disappoint me. I wish I were better at analyzing music and giving specifics, but all I can really say is give it a listen.

 

Art:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Mother and Child by Kurt Hasley

I’ve loved Kurt Hasley’s work since I was in high school. They used to sell some of his stuff at Urban Outfitters–not sure if they still do. But his drawings and paintings are always so cute. He does cartoons, mostly of couples and animals, and often adds cute phrases. I would suggest checking out his website and ordering some prints. His animal pictures could even be cute to decorate a baby’s room!

 

FOOD:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
String Cheese

It’s summer, we’re busy with activities, so we sometimes have to grab a quick snack on the go. String cheese is perfect for that. It’s healthy and easy. My personal favorite is mozzarella. I also enjoy pairing it with grapes or pita bread.

 

Hope you enjoyed my picks! Give them a try and let me know what you thought of any of them!

Leave a comment